Menu
Villages

Katydata

Edited by

Located in the Lefkosia (Nicosia) district, 56 km away from the capital, the small village of Katydata can be reached by following the B9 towards the mountainous region of the Solea Valley.

The village has two rivers passing through it – Karkotis and Setrahos – which give it its name, derived from the words ‘kato’ (under) and ‘ydor’ (water). It has maintained this name through the centuries and was referred to as ‘Cattidata’ in Medieval times.

Its main church is dedicated to Agios Ioannis Theologos, and was built in 1870, on top of the relics of an older church.

The nearby Skouriotissa copper mine has been exploited since antiquity and was – and still is – the biggest on the island. It is the only active mine in Cyprus today, and still produces copper cathodes. Nearby, there is also an interesting mine museum that showcases the mining activity of the area.

Courtesy of the CTO