Home / Discover / Experience / Spiritual and Cultural Routes / The UNESCO listed churches (Troodos)

The UNESCO listed churches (Troodos)

Cyprus has a large number of Byzantine monuments resulting in ten of them having such significant historical and artistic value that UNESCO included them in its list of World Heritage Sites.  All ten are churches located in Troodos dating from the 11th to the 17th centuries.
In order to have a proper tour, the route was geographically divided into three regions:
Solea route: Nikitari – Galata – Kakopetria. Starts Panayia tis Asinou in Nikitari. Ends: Ayios Nikolaos tis Stegis in Kakopetria. Route length: 138 kilometres
Marathasa route: Κalopanayiotis – Moutoulas – Pedoulas. Starts: Monastery of Ayios Ioannis Lampadistis in Kalopanayiotis. Ends: Church of Archangelos Michael in Pedoulas. Route length: 148 kilometres
Pitsilia route: Lagoudera – Platanistasa – Pelendri – Palaichori. Starts: Monastery of Panayia tou Araka in Lagoudera. Ends: Church of Metamorfosis in Palaichori. Route length: 97 kilometres
Monuments in Solea: Church of Panayia tis Asinou or Forviotissa in Nikitari, Churches of Panayia Podithou, Archangelou or Panayia and Ayios Sozomenos in Galata and Church of Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis in Kakopetria.
Monuments in Marathasa: Monastery of Ayios Ioannis tou Lampadisti in Kalopanagiotis, Church of Panayia in Moutoula and the Church of Archangelos Michael in Pedoulas.
Monuments in Pitsilia: Monastery of Panagia tou Araka in Lagoudera, Church of Stavrou tou Ayiasmati in Platanistasa, Monastery of Timios Stavros and Church of Archangelos Michael in Pelendri, Church of Ayios Mamas in Louvara and Church of Metamorfosis in Palaichori.

Check Also

Byzantine Route A Saintly Experience

Nestled in the Troodos Mountains is a real Byzantine treasure trove that reveals the island’s …