The picturesque village of Kalopanayiotis is known for its healthy sulphur springs and for its Church of Ayios loannis Lampadistis.
The Church of Ayios Ioannis Lambadistis and Byzantine Museum
Originally a monastery, today’s church of Agios Ioannis Lambadistis is a complex of three churches: Agios Irakleidios, Agios Ioannis Lambadistis and a Latin chapel – all under a single pitched roof. The church is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The Church of Agios Irakleidios was built in the 11th century while its frescoes date to the 13th and 16th century. The templon is particularly interesting, covered with gargoyles, including a heraldic Lusignan lion and Byzantine eagle.
The Church of Ayios Ioannis Lambadistis was built in 1731. The saint’s tomb, which dates to the 12th century, can be found under the narrow northeastern arch and the saint’s skull lies in a niche. The icon of Lambadistis dates to 1543. A very interesting Byzantine museum can be seen near the church.The Latin Chapel contains the most complete series of Italo-Byzantine paintings in Cyprus.
69km from Nicosia
Courtesy of the CTO